Upcoming Webinar – Exosome RNA for Biomarker Development

exoso rname

Date: Tuesday, October 6, 2015Time: 11am EDT (NA) / 4pm BST (UK) / 5pm CEST (EU-Central)

Duration: 90 minutes

Featured Speaker:

  • Dr. Johan Skog, Chief Scientific Officer and Founding Scientist, Exosome Diagnostics

Discovery and validation of biomarkers has traditionally required the use of tissue for analysis of RNA, DNA or protein. This has been especially true for RNA based biomarkers, because RNase degradation of free RNA makes translation of tissue based biomarkers into blood based tests highly problematic. However, the discovery that exosomes found in biofluids contain stable, disease specific RNA, represents a potential paradigm shift for biomarker discovery and development. Exosome RNA can be used to monitor tumor derived mutations in biofluids, but can also be used to monitor RNA levels reflective of different signaling pathways (including mRNA, miRNA, lncRNA and others). In addition, exosome RNA can be used to monitor cell activities resulting in fusions and RNA splice variants that cannot be measured on circulating free tumor DNA.

In the first half of this webinar, Dr Skog will discuss the exosome composition, different sources of RNA in biofluids and approaches to isolate them. Following this overview, he will talk about clinical applications of exosome biomarkers.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *